High Ends, the solo project by Jeffrey Innes of Yukon Blonde was released today via Dine Alone Records. The 10-track album was recorded in Vancouver Island with producer Colin Stewart, who has worked with Dave Mangan and The New Pornographers.

Innes’ album is upbeat, starting with infectious synth-heavy and 80’s-inspired songs “Downtown” and “The Weight.” “Intoxicated” and “Capuccino” are both love songs – the latter being about a caffeine addiction, and “Intoxicated” is about being so drunk in love with someone, you become addicted to them. “River Crusie is entirely instrumental, relying on synthesizers to create a trance-like background sound while the bass line moves things along.

The end of the album takes a turn towards shoegaze with “Feel Sleep Aliens,” but “Working Man’s Blues” – about being American and having to work – goes right back to Innes’ electronic pop style. Featured on the album are drummer Jeff Mitchelmore of Gold & Youth, Louise Burns and The New Pornographers’ Kathryn Calder on vocals, and guitarist Darcy Hancock from Ladyhawk.

Innes has released a video for “Downtown,” a song which he wrote about internet. The video follows a woman on a quest for love, and though she heads downtown in hopes of finding it, she ends up alone. Watch the video for “Downtown” above.

Article by: Alexa Tietjen


Be first to comment